Types of Lands in Ghana


Land in Ghana has seen increasingly high levels of demand due to the growing population. Locals and expatriates alike aspire to stake a share in Ghana’s lands in order to serve either as a foundation for a home or for other commercial purposes. If you wish to buy land in Ghana you will need to triple check who actually owns the land. In the past Ghana has been notorious for landowners selling land to multiple people.

There are four types of land in Ghana:

  • Government land

Lands that have been compulsorily acquired using its powers of eminence but under certain laws in the country. The Government pays the owner of the land adequate compensation before it acquires that land. The law allows the owner to value the land and give the government a price. Government of Ghana also has its valuers headed by the Land Evaluation Division of the Lands commission.

  • Vested land

These are lands that the Government of Ghana lays its hand on to manage for a group usually because there is a conflict between different parties who are claiming ownership of the land.

  • Customary/stool land

Over 80% of lands in Ghana are owned customarily under the customary land owning system that is, they are owned by the stool or the skin. Stool land (customary land) belongs to tribal chiefs or other customary authorities. The 1992 constitution states there must be no free holding of this type of land. However, stool land given to families or individuals before 1992 is now considered private land

  • Family/private land

These are lands owned by the family. In most parts of the Volta Region and some parts of the Ashanti Region, Brong Ahafo and in the Northern Region, lands are usually owned by families.